AWCON 2022: Cameroon Among 12 Qualified Teams

Indomitable Lionesses

Some of the regulars like Nigeria and Cameroon will be present in Morocco while some first timers will equally look to announce themselves on the bigger stage

The line up for the 2022 African Women Cup of Nations was completed last week at the end of the second leg last round matches that were played across the continent.

The competition which takes place in Morocco from July 2-23 will see an increase in participating teams from eight to twelve.

The Indomitable Lionesses, one of the regulars of the tournament, booked their place after a beating the Gambia 2-1 last Wednesday in Banjul to complete a 10-1 aggregate rout.

The Indomitable Lionesses will now look to go all out to win their first crown after coming close in 2016 on home soil.

However, they know the task will not be easy given that a familiar foe, the Super Falcons of Nigeria have also qualified for the tournament after a 3-1 aggregate score over Cote d’Ivoire. The three-time winners of the tournament are hot favourites to extend their record in the competition.

One of the teams that will be looking to make their mark at the tournament will be Tunisia who booked their ticket despite a 3-2 defeat against Equatorial Guinea. The Tunisians had already secured their place after a 5-0 mauling of their opponents in the first leg.


It will be a first bite of the cake for Botswana, Burundi, Burkina Faso and Toho who booked their places last week for the Morocco showpiece.

While it was plain for the others, Togo had to battle it out with a 2-1 with both at home and away against Gabon to book their place.

It was rather comfortable for Burkina Faso who sailed through with a seven nil aggregate score over Guinea Bissau.

World Cup In Sight

Winning the 2022 AWCON will not be the only motivation for the twelve teams involve as the 2023 World Cup will be an added motivation.

The four semi finalists will automatically qualify for the 2023 Women’s FIFA World Cup which takes place in Australia from July 20 to Augu23, 2023.

Teams Qualified


Burkina Faso



Morocco (Hosts)




South Africa





Related Articles


    List is empty.

Leave a comment